Duval County announces 2020 Teacher of the Year Finalists

Dec. 5, 2019 -It was a moment nearly 200 teachers with the Duval County School District hoped for, as the finalists for the 2020 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year, were surprised in their classrooms this week.
“These teachers of the year have spent years honing in on their craft and perfecting their craft,” said Superintendent, Dr. Diana Greene.
It’s not an easy choice, with 187 hardworking teachers nominated for the award, but now the list is down to five teachers.
For two days, school leaders and members of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund (JPEF), went to each classroom to surprise the teachers.
Jaxson Deville and the Jaguars cheerleaders joined in on the surprises, as the finalists were handed a plaque and flowers.
“It is so exhilarating, inspirational, and rejuvenating for me to present to these top 5 finalists with flowers and a plaque. It’s really not about presenting the flowers or the plaque, it’s about the celebration of what happens in our classrooms everyday,” said Dr. Greene.
JPEF, who manages the Teacher of the Year process, will host the 29th Annual EDDY Awards Gala for the Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year on Friday January, 17, 2020 at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront.
The finalists are:
Leslie White/Leadership Academies at Eugene Butler Middle School
Michael Ham/Mathew Gilbert Middle School
Carol Thomas/Dinsmore Elementary
Leena Hall/Raines High School
Renee McNulty/Jean Ribault High School

Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy
Admin Login