School name change tracker

Superintendent shares school name change recommendations

May 25, 2021 – Duval County Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Diana Greene is recommending that the School Board change the names of the six schools currently named for Confederate leaders.

Current Name                                                             Recommended Name

Joseph Finegan Elementary School                         Anchor Academy

Stonewall Jackson Elementary School            Hidden Oaks Elementary School

J.E.B. Stuart Middle School                                       Westside Middle School

Kirby-Smith Middle School                                       Springfield Middle School

Jefferson Davis Middle School                                 Charger Academy

Robert E. Lee High School                                         Riverside High School

Dr. Greene is not recommending changes to three other school names – Jean Ribault middle and high schools and Andrew Jackson High School.

The superintendent’s recommendations generally follow the overall stakeholder input received through the district’s balloting process.  The recommendations now go to the Duval County School Board for their action on Tuesday, June 1, at their regular 6 p.m. meeting.

Dr. Greene will discuss these recommendations in-depth with the School Board at that time.

“I want to thank all of the people who participated in this process, and I want to thank the school leaders and district employees who have managed this over the last several months,” Dr. Greene said. “We’ve had dozens of meetings, hours of public testimony and thousands of votes. All of this input has helped shape my recommendations, which I will discuss publicly with the Board next week.”

Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy
Admin Login