24 students representing five DCPS schools selected as 2022 National Merit Semifinalists

Sept. 16, 2021 – Congratulations to the 24 Duval County Public Schools students — representing Douglas Anderson, Fletcher, Mandarin, Stanton, and Wolfson high schools — who are among the approximately 16,000 semifinalists selected for the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

These academically gifted high school seniors will now have an opportunity to compete for about 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million dollars.

The students represent the highest scorers in the state on the 2020 the Preliminary SAT/ National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. This test serves as an initial screen of program entrants.

The next round in the competition is the Finalist stage. To become a Finalist, the students must submit an application detailing information about their academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received.

Finalists will be notified in February 2022, and winners of the scholarships will be announced in three different cohorts between April and July 2022.

Congratulations to all the students. The list of semifinalists is below:

Douglas Anderson
McDonald, Daniel C.

Huelsnitz, Samuel W.
Jurs, Ander C.

Murphy, Connor J.

Anand, Swetha
Britto, Joanna
Carlson, Katie H.
Chitta, Siddharth V.
Devooght, Elizabeth L.
Files, Elijah C.
Guhan, Nikhita
Jones, Piper E.
Kumar, Karthick
Lee, Eric W.
Lindsay, Audrey E.
Malosh, Jessica A.
Manuel, Joshua A.
Nafisi, Ava
Patel, Avi M.
Perikala, Susheel S.
Pilla, Joshitha
Valan, Joel
Varshney, Romir

Bailey, Sean P.

Stanton’s 2022 National Merit Semifinalist pose with Principal Nongongoma Majova in front of the school’s marquee. There were 19 semifinalists from Stanton.

Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy
Admin Login