Semifinalists named for 2024 Vystar Teacher of the Year

Dec. 5, 2023 — Congratulations to the 15 semifinalists for the 2024 VyStar Teacher of the Year award.

The semifinalists are composed of veteran educators as well as teachers earlier in their career. Five of the 15 will go on to compete for the title of Duval County Teacher of the Year. The winner will be announced on Jan. 20, 2024, at the annual EDDY Awards.

Below are the names of the semifinalists (pictured left to right, top to bottom in the above photo).

Visit the Jacksonville Public Education Fund (JPEF) for more information including a short bio on each semifinalist.


  • Ana Andenmatten, Mandarin Oaks Elementary School
  • Jazline Clark, Arlington Middle School
  • Alana Davis, IDEA Bassett College Prep
  • Gustavo Guzman, Terry Parker High School
  • Marissa Hein, Alimacani Elementary School
  • Deborah Lepper, Frank H. Peterson Academies of Technology
  • Ashlyn Lupinski, River City Science Academy Innovation
  • Tonya Robinson-McNair, Hyde Grove Elementary School
  • Mariah Rucker, KIPP Impact Academy
  • Kimberly Sedgwick, Arlington Heights Elementary School
  • Katrice Shorter, Atlantic Coast High School
  • Leonard Smith, Fort Caroline Elementary School
  • Jenifer Straley, Lake Lucina Elementary School
  • Tery Ann Torres, San Jose Elementary School
  • Juana Zargon, Love Grove Elementary School

Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy
Admin Login