School Board welcomes new chair, vice chair

Nov. 18, 2021 –Congratulations to Board Members Darryl Willie and Dr. Kelly Coker who were elected unanimously to serve as the school board’s new chairman and vice chairwoman respectively.

The election took place on Tuesday during a special Board meeting. Chairs and vice-chairs are elected annually and serve a one-year term.

Coker is taking Willie’s place who served as the vice chair this past term. Willie is taking the place of outgoing chair, Elizabeth Andersen.

“As I take this seat, I continue to stand in the gap for our kids and our community,” said Chairman Willie. “This position is only as powerful as the actions we create, and students we prepare. We have done some incredible work during my time on the Board, and I plan to continue creating real and lasting change for our students, staff, and community as Board Chairman. With student achievement as our central focus, my daily charge is to challenge us to be better every day and support the diligent efforts of our phenomenal staff.”

The make-up of the Board is as follows:

  • District 1 – Vice Chairwoman Dr. Kelly Coker
  • District 2 – Elizabeth Andersen
  • District 3 – Cindy Pearson
  • District 4 – Chairman Darryl Willie
  • District 5 – Warren Jones
  • District 6 – Charlotte Joyce
  • District 7 – Lori Hershey

Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy
Admin Login