5000 Role Models of Excellence Students stand for their Wilson Scholar recognition

“5000 Role Models of Excellence” Wilson Scholars awarded over $1 million in scholarships

June 9, 2022 – Dressed in their signature white dress shirt and red ties, 13 recent graduates and members of the 5000 Role Models of Excellence stood front and center during Tuesday’s School Board meeting to be recognized as Wilson Scholars.

As Wilson scholars, these graduates are receiving scholarships ranging from $20,000 to $96,000 to one of three Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs): Clark Atlanta University, Benedict College, or Tennessee State University.

The namesake of the scholar program is Rep. Frederica Wilson who founded the 5000 Role Models of Excellence Project and established the scholarship program by collaborating with HBCUs across the country. The Wilson Scholars program offers qualifying seniors an opportunity to fulfill their dream of higher education by providing scholarship awards.

Scholarship recipients were eligible based on their ability to maintain a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or higher and by being an active participant of the 5000 Role Models of Excellence Project.

The 5000 Role Models of Excellence Project is designed to equip minority male youth for success by providing them exposure to positive role models and diverse cultural and educational experiences such as college tours, etiquette workshops, and career-training resources.

If your student attends a participating school and would like to complete an application, visit the “Student Role Model” webpage for more information.

Find out how you can help, if you would like to become a volunteer adult role model.

Scholarship recipients from Duval County Public Schools are:

Andrew Jackson High School

  • Shaun Raymond

Atlantic Coast High School

  • Tyree Soares

First Coast High School

  • Freddie Coleman
  • Anthony Harrell

Jean Ribault High School

  • Mykal Bolden
  • Joshua Delphonse
  • Devonte Greene
  • Donovin Green
  • Amari Gunder
  • Terrell Shealy

Riverside High School

  • Alfred Graham
  • Elijah Green

Samuel W. Wolfson School for Advances Studies and Leadership

  • Joshua Golden
  • Kristopher Mason

Accessibility Statement | Privacy Policy
Admin Login